PvP gear penalty in pve content

#1 - Feb. 23, 2014, 10:36 p.m.
Blizzard Post
ive spent the last week arguing with a member of mine concerning this matter, and ive spent the entirety of my day digging through old patch notes on the topic to no avail. Although im not supported to ask this im going to anyway, i need a Blue reply to this, or a link to a blue reply on the matter, or a link to patch notes that explain it in the unlikely event that i somehow missed it.

Is the penality still built into the game? i know it was there in one of the older platforms but ive heard claims it was removed in cata. so quite simply, does it still exist or not? due to the questionable decision about pvp gear in this new season id like to know if theres still cause to turn away pvp geared players out of hand.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edit:

interesting, i was informed wrong when i started playing then back in BC. so lets expand this past that, if the entire idea of factoring resilience into the stat budget of gear to keep pvp and pve separate since the methods of gearing are rather different and pvers are at a distinct disadvantage compared to pvpers in gearing speed, then why remove that now? essentially the new season gear makes 62-87.5% of flex gear irrelevant (depending on if the person cares about the set bonus outside of reg or not).

and lets face it the majority of wow players are fairly lazy in most cases, if its easier to gear up in pvp gear, of which there is no doubt just lose rbgs until capped and repeat weekly, they arnt likely to think to compare itemization or upgraded flex gear vs conq gear.

so tell me blizzard, what under the Light are you bloody thinking making pvp gear thats on par with reg raiding gear without some form of penalty for wearing the junk in a raid?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edit 2- clarification and suggestions