New players?

#1 - Oct. 21, 2013, 1:04 p.m.
Blizzard Post
So one of my best friends (irl) decided it was time to give wow a try and get into it recently since he played a lot of diablo and wanted to make the shift...He wanted to be a tank and was naturally attracted to the Warrior. I've been guiding him as best as I can and just made this little alt to help heal him and support his leveling since being on a 90 only goes so far....I've been playing for a good 8 years now, so I know what I'm talking about to him but I think we all forget how much stuff we know about this game until you try explaining it all to someone who's never even heard the word "Org."

On to the point of this thread, I called it "new players" not to bash on new players but it's more about how they are supposed to learn with today's community. I had my friend practice tanking groups of normal enemies out in the feild and practice movement but since he is brand new, he obviously is not heirloom decked out... I crafted him all the best gear and bought him the best weapon and shield I could for his level just to try and give him a little leg up for his first dungeon...We go into the dungeon and I tell everyone this is his first dungeon ever and what is our group? 2 heirloomed out dps running ahead pulling everything and healing themselves, then !@#$%ing and complaining the tank is slow, even going so far as to make snide comments like "Love all the tanking you're doing scrub."