Why MoP ruined the game for casual players

#1 - Jan. 13, 2013, 8:25 p.m.
Blizzard Post
Now, first of all, I'd like to say that I've played WoW since Patch 1.6 and seen most of what Blizzard has had to offer in this game. I've done raids, dungeons, heroics, world events (including the AQ serverwide event), quests, dailies, key chains, class chains and I've leveled a dozen characters to level 60 and above. So I'm no new player, and this is not a "whine-thread".

Since MoP's release (actually before that, but especially since then), the game has started to bug me, and the reasons are simple.

I am a teacher by education, which means that in addition to an 8 AM - 15 PM workday, I have at least 2-3 hours of extra work when I get home. Add driving to work, cooking food, spending time with friends and family, I am left with very, very little time to play. And that's where my problem comes in. Since then, the game has become nothing more than a giant pile of dailies. You want gear? Do dailies. You want quests? Dailies. You want end-game content without raiding eight days a week? Dailies, dailies, dailies.

But guess what? I don't have time for dailies! And neither does the average casual player in a similar situation like me! I am in a casual guild with casual players, and it has become nearly impossible for us to keep up with the immense amount of dailies required to even give the game meaning. Cataclysm was a faceroll in tabards and dungeons. MoP is a mountain of dailies, only climbable by those who have hours to spare every day.

Well, Blizzard, I don't have time to do several hours of dailies every single day, and neither does 95% of the casual players, and I have a guild full of them to back me up. I have friends who play, and they spend all afternoon doing dailies, sometimes even more!