Help
Regional FlagEnhancement lacks theme, directionSource
Brynmor
Target Source
#0 - 2010/08/29 12:30:47 AM
I've played my Enhancement Shaman as my main since I started playing WoW, shortly before the TBC release. The longer I play, and the more alts I level the more I feel that the Enhancement spec lacks an overarching theme or direction. What I mean by that is, all specs have a theme, a point of reference, an aesthetic that dictates how that spec plays, i.e., fire mages set things on fire, frost mages freeze them, demonology warlocks turn into demons, feral druids are savage beasts, elemental shaman wield lightning. I could go on (using up to 29 examples in fact) but I think you get the idea. Every spec in the game has some theme that accurately suits it and its abilities and talents follow that theme. Perhaps I've been too close to it for too long but I feel that Enhancement lacks a defining characteristic in this manner, or that it is less tangible than in other specs.

In Vanilla the spec was pretty self explanatory and straight forward. If you spec'd Enhancement you got to use a big 2Her and WTF-WF people. Throughout BC, WotLK and coming into Cataclysm this has certainly changed and I don't feel like there is a unifying aesthetic to the spec any longer. It often feels like the purpose of the spec (the talents) is to enable us to throw the entire Shaman spellbook at bosses. We're all over the place. We have two melee strikes, but the majority of the abilities we use are spells. We have many mechanics and abilities we use to DPS but they don't converge or have a common point of reference like in other specs.