Balance Druid PvP Information [Future Guide]

#1 - Aug. 2, 2011, 11:13 a.m.
Blizzard Post
I've recently been playing boomkin and thoroughly enjoying it, hitting 6million on the damage meters, along with top kills etc. I'm not a moonkin expert, I just want to share information I've gathered.

As many of you aspiring boomkins know, there is little information of a standard moonkin build for pvp. I would like to dedicate this thread to bring all known information about boomkin pvp into one place, acting as a guide.

In my searches, I looked up high rated balance druids, searched google, looked through arenajunkies for any bits of information, along with mmo-champion forums.

Covered in this write-up:
Where to start
Haste
Stats
Glyphs
Gems
Talents
How to play effectively
Openers
Tactics

Where to start?

I personally started with thinking crit was the way to go. However, I began to notice crit was not stacking up very well, compared to a feral druid who can get 40% crit without much problem. I then thought about going mastery but I realized there is no synchronization with talents and other stats that are beneficial enough to stack mastery.

Getting right into it. The trick is haste. Why haste?

Firstly because of the talent Nature's Grace, which gives you 15% haste after you cast Moonfire, Regrowth, or Insect Swarm, lasting 15 sec. This effect has a 1 minute cooldown. When you gain Lunar or Solar Eclipse, the cooldown of Nature's Grace is instantly reset. This means, quite simply that: more haste = more Nature's Grace = more mana regen.