I just wanted to say thank you!

#1 - March 22, 2013, 9:08 p.m.
Blizzard Post
I was greatly anticipating the PAX East reveal.

With the (very successful) release of StarCraft HoTS and also Blizzard's Project: Blackstone story I assumed/hoped/speculated that the "big reveal" would be some re-incarnation of StarCraft Ghost, or more simply a hugely story-driven FPS based on the StarCraft universe, akin to Half Life (which I never played but always hear great things about).

I was disappointed that they revealed... a card game. I'm not big into TCG's, though many, many of my friends are. It's not that I don't like them, it's just that I never got into them. ... Still curious though, I delved into the website and watched the cinematic and behind-the-scenes videos.
I noted a few things that I would like to share with you. First of all, please keep in mind I'm a novice in this genre, so if any of my comments are off the mark please take them with a grain of salt.

My first observation is that I love that this is a virtual card game. If it were a physical deck, which Blizzard has done before, I would not at all be interested and would most likely never play. Blizzard has gone that route in the past, and I am so glad they are bringing it to the realm of PC and mobile gaming.

This alone says a few things about Blizzard, all of which I admire, and which leads me into my second observation. This is that Blizzard is still willing and even aspires to try new things. This is actually a huge point, and is very important to us as the fans. For all we have seen Blizzard has really only been interested in supporting its existing franchises and models. To their credit, these are amazing franchises, tried-and-true models, and ultimately games that players and fans want.