WOW weekly maintenance.....why?

#1 - Nov. 13, 2012, 9:03 p.m.
Blizzard Post
Let me first start by establishing a little credibility. I have been in IT for 16 years, I work as a Data Center Solution Architect for a Fortune 500 outsourcing company. My background and specialization is around server and infrastructure technologies within data centers and transformative technologies (leading edge IT trends).

I started to play WOW just after launch, around December or January 2004. I have played at varying levels of dedication ranging from casual to hardcore raider.

Now for the topic I'd like to bring up. I have seen the Tuesday maintenance for as long as I have played the game and to this day, I just don't understand why an alternative approach to maintenance has yet to be identified. The blizzard customers pay for a service and when you pay for a service, you expect it to be available.

The Data Center technologies available around the initial development of the game are very different from technologies that exist today. We have seen the emergence of virtualization with tools like VMware and Citrix. We have seen Unix move forward with similar virtualization tech like the IBM AIX Logical Partitioning and the virtual I/o components. What these technologies have enabled architects to do is become more flexible with the availability of enterprise applications to the end user. Data is more flexible to be shared and load balanced as a result, thus eliminating the conventional maintenance requirements for older system architecture.

In today’s Data Center, applications are available 24/7 commonly with 99.99% availability requirements in terms of Service Levels. In some extreme cases, you will even see 99.999% which equates to just 5.26 minutes a year. With the availability we see from blizzard its closer to 95% availability (8 hours of downtime per week). This is completely unacceptable in today’s standards.