Nubski question on API

#1 - May 25, 2011, 5:42 a.m.
Blizzard Post
Hi guys,

This is my first time posting on any Blizzard forum. Anyway, I'm building a C# API wrapper and I got the realm status all done and I was reading the thread about the characters, guilds and arena teams. I tried testing the urls, but just kept getting this:

{"status":"nok", "reason": "Invalid application permissions."}

So, am I doing something wrong, or are those access points plainly turned off?

Thanks in advance!
Forum Avatar
Web & Mobile Team
#3 - May 25, 2011, 3:17 p.m.
Blizzard Post
05/24/2011 10:42 PMPosted by Nilah
So, am I doing something wrong, or are those access points plainly turned off?

The character, guild, arena team and data APIs are limited to a select few applications and consumers of the API while we finalize some of the details and collect feedback.
Forum Avatar
Web & Mobile Team
#11 - June 20, 2011, 4:17 a.m.
Blizzard Post
06/19/2011 05:34 PMPosted by Nilah
Why is it that some entities get early access and the remainder of the community does not? It's basically selective treatment.

We've provided several of our partners (ie Heroic Prints, Figure Prints, Steel Series, etc) with access to help transition them away from the old API to the new API. It is selective treatment and there is nothing wrong with it. The old armory is still available; nothing has been taken away.

Who are they? Why do they get the early access? What are the requirements to apply? And, lastly, where does one apply for early access? It's seems obvious that on one here knows how to do that, so does that mean that you chose who gains early access?

Frankly, none of your business. If we've contacted certain people or groups for feedback, it is because we wanted specific feedback on key features that we know that they consume.