Good Customer Service Goes a long way

#1 - May 9, 2011, 3:24 p.m.
Blizzard Post
I don’t know if historically in-game issues are worse now than they have ever been but they sure are bad. With all of the new technology that has gone into the latest patches and expansion, there certainly are more problems than I have ever seen. Personally, I have a character that is stuck between phases in Mt. Hyjal to the point where she can no longer pick up or turn in quests in that zone. I spent 3 hours with a GM who could not solve the problem and told me that an official bug report has been filed. I am also a guild manager who has lost quite a few members because they are getting disconnected in major cities or have extreme lag. The GM said they will keep working on a fix, however, it is quite frustrating to know that some of the quests that you want to complete, some of the achievements you want to work for, and some of the rep you want to gain from questing you can’t do until the one day when it all gets worked out. When this will be, who knows, because I was told over the phone by customer service that there is a very high volume of bug tickets and trouble reports.

This is where I think Blizzard needs to step up the customer service. Some people I know have gotten so frustrated with the problems that they refuse to play. This has a domino effect on the game including many guilds which is affected by the loss of players. When I asked the customer service over the phone what they would do to compensate players for this inconvenience, they said they would do nothing. They stated that I should wait and/or go play other zones that are accessible.

In my opinion that is very bad customer service. We are paying for a service that is full of bugs and cannot be accessed in its entirety, so yes, Blizzard, your customers should be compensated in some way to help ease the trouble.