#1 - Dec. 22, 2010, 1:47 p.m.
Blizzard Post

BlizzCon presents an opportunity for real-life tailors and engineers to take up their needle and thread, their cardboard and spray paint, to create amazingly realistic recreations of their favorite Blizzard Entertainment characters. We invited the winners of this year’s costume contest to write guest articles on the art of costume-craft for us to share with the community. Here’s the second of three, written by Armando, who won second place for his towering and fearsome reproduction off Illidan Stormrage.

Howdy! My name is Armando and this is the story of the Illidan costume's journey from initial idea to BlizzCon.The idea to transform myself into Illidan Stormrage stemmed from our guild spending so much time in Black Temple (and him kicking our ass). Being an artist, I was the one who would wipe the raid because I was too busy looking at the design work to notice nearby mobs. Perhaps it was the kinship I felt for his tortured soul, drawn into darkness due to unrequited love. Whatever the reason, I fell in love with the Illidan character and swore to my guild that I would portray him at BlizzCon.

Within days of obtaining BlizzCon tickets I set into motion the plan for my diabolical transformation. I had never sculpted horns (or anything out of clay for that matter), I had never made pants, I had never made demon wings, and I had never made demon hooves. Clearly, I needed help. I I recruited Richard, another obsessive artist friend of mine, and with his assistance I was confident that "I WAS PREPARED."

The actual construction took months and money was tight -- I'd often buy paint or sculpting clay instead of food, I was so committed to Illidan. I started a new job three months before BlizzCon, and savored every moment that I could work on the costume, dreading every moment that I had to be away at the new job. Whether my fingers were bleeding or my back was aching, I loved every minute I worked on the costume.